Guided hikes| Culture and customs| Hiking program Back to overview

Culture hike

-

Pfunds

Altfinstermünz Fortress

Altfinstermünz is a fortification. The Via Claudia Augusta, the Roman imperial road across the Alps from the Po Valley via the Reschen Pass to Augsburg, once ran through here. Until the construction of the new Reschen road (1850-1854), all traffic passed through Altfinstermünz. Special features of the border fortress are the defensive tower with a pitch nose, the hermitage with a passageway and the rectangular tower, Sigmundsegg, on a rocky outcrop. You can walk up to this fortress tower through a cave passage. The renovated chapel is located near the old customs fortress in the Inn gorge.

Along the Inn, you follow in the footsteps of the ancient Romans to the Altfinstermünz fortress. An exciting journey through the ancient walls awaits you there.

Meeting point: 10:00 am at the Kajetansbrücke campsite - at the Via Claudiasee campsite parking lot
Price: free with the Summercard 
Registration: by 04:30 pm the evening before at the information offices or with your landlord.

Dates

-
Tuesday, 18.06.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 25.06.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 02.07.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM
Tuesday, 09.07.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 16.07.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 23.07.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM
Tuesday, 30.07.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 06.08.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 13.08.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM
Tuesday, 20.08.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 27.08.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 03.09.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM
Tuesday, 10.09.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 17.09.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM Tuesday, 24.09.2024, 10:00 - 01.00 PM
Event location
Campingplatz Via Claudia See
Vorderrauth 391, 6542 Pfunds
Contact
Erlebnisraum Tiroler Oberland
Kirchplatz 48, 6531 Ried

Similar events

Ried
every Tuesday
18.06.2024 - 24.09.2024
Visiting the restored saw mill
Old sawmill newly restored
Pfunds
every Tuesday & Friday
23.02.2024 - 27.09.2024
Tasting at Delikatessen Plangger
Ried
08.06.2024 - 07.07.2024
Exhibition ‘Back to the future’
Three artists, three works, one idea
Pfunds
every Wednesday
19.06.2024 - 11.09.2024
Guidet Sunrise Tour with Breakfast
to the Kobler Alm
Tiroler Oberland
every Wednesday
01.05.2024 - 30.10.2024
Aifner Alm Hiking bus
Wednesday Aifner Alm - Falkauns Alm
Tiroler Oberland
every Thursday
02.05.2024 - 31.10.2024
Tschey Hiking bus
Thursday Tschey
Tiroler Oberland
every Thursday
02.05.2024 - 31.10.2024
Hiking pick-up bus Stalanz
Thursday Stalanz
Pfunds
Friday
21.06.2024
Blumenwanderweg - Alpe Zanders
guidet Hiking Tour